
- How Anthropic’s 85.4% Gross Margin is Calculated
- How $100 of Revenue Becomes an Operating Loss
- Why Channel-Partner Charges Sit Outside Cost of Revenue
- How Much of Anthropic’s Compute Bill Sits Outside Gross Margin?
- What Happens if Anthropic’s Compute Costs Grow Faster Than Revenue?
- What Does Anthropic’s 85.4% Gross Margin Mean for Investors?
Anthropic’s S-1 implies that roughly $85 out of every $100 of revenue remained after the expenses classified as cost of revenue in H1 2026. Yet the company reported a $693 million operating loss over those same six months.
The explanation is what that first subtraction leaves to pay. Research and development, sales and marketing, and administration consumed almost $90 for every $100 of revenue, exceeding the gross profit available to cover them.
The implied 85.4% gross margin is a useful subtotal; the operating result measures whether revenue covers the whole operating cost base.
How Anthropic’s 85.4% Gross Margin is Calculated
Start with the two numbers needed for gross margin. Anthropic recorded $16.286 billion of revenue in H1 2026, while Note 8 in S-1 lists $2.380 billion of cost of revenue in its functional expense table. Subtracting the second from the first leaves $13.906 billion of calculated gross profit.
Implied gross margin = (16.286 − 2.380) ÷ 16.286 × 100 = 85.4%.
This is our calculation from the filing’s functional presentation, rather than a gross-margin line reported on the main income statement. The most useful comparison is the same six months a year earlier.
| Measure | H1 2025 | H1 2026 |
| Revenue, reported | $1.163 billion | $16.286 billion |
| Cost of revenue, reported by function | $1.019 billion | $2.380 billion |
| Gross profit, our calculation | $0.144 billion | $13.906 billion |
| Gross margin, our calculation | 12.4% | 85.4% |
| Operating result, reported | −$2.135 billion | −$0.693 billion |
Both periods are unaudited. Reported figures come from the S-1; gross profit and gross margin are calculated using its cost-of-revenue classification.
Revenue increased roughly fourteenfold, while cost of revenue rose about 2.34 times. That is a substantial improvement in the relationship between sales and the costs assigned to this line. The table alone cannot tell us how much came from pricing, model efficiency, customer mix or better use of available capacity.
How $100 of Revenue Becomes an Operating Loss
There is a reason investors need the footnotes to follow the next step. During 2025, Anthropic changed its main income statement from grouping expenses by function, such as research or sales, to grouping them by nature, such as computing or personnel. A researcher’s pay belongs within R&D in the first view and personnel in the second.
Note 8 preserves the functional view, allowing us to reconstruct the statement below. Both presentations contain $16.979 billion of H1 2026 operating expenses, including cost of revenue; Note 1 says the presentation change did not alter operating loss.
| Step in the functional statement | H1 2026 amount, US$ billion | Addition or deduction per $100 of revenue | Balance per $100 |
| Revenue | 16.286 | +$100.00 | $100.00 |
| Less: cost of revenue | 2.380 | −$14.61 | $85.39 |
| Gross profit, calculated subtotal | 13.906 | Subtotal | $85.39 |
| Less: research and development | 9.741 | −$59.81 | $25.57 |
| Less: functional sales and marketing | 3.808 | −$23.38 | $2.19 |
| Less: general and administrative expenses | 1.050 | −$6.45 | −$4.26 |
| Operating result | −0.693 | Result | −$4.26 |
The expense amounts are reported figures; gross profit and every per-$100 figure are our calculations. Balances use the original amounts before rounding, so displayed deductions may differ from displayed balances by one cent.
R&D is the largest expense after cost of revenue. It includes computing for model development, research and internal use, alongside personnel, software and allocated overhead. Anthropic says maintaining the capability of its models is essential to generating revenue, so assuming this function can simply disappear would miss a central cost of the business.
The $693 million shortfall therefore arises inside operations, before interest, financing-related valuation changes and tax. Those other items are covered in INDmoney’s broader Anthropic S-1 explainer.
Why Channel-Partner Charges Sit Outside Cost of Revenue
The next detail changes how investors should read that $85 of gross profit. Under the disclosed functional classification, charges paid to channel partners sit in sales and marketing, so they have yet to be deducted at the gross-profit stage.
This matters because approximately 48% of H1 2026 revenue came through cloud-provider marketplaces. Anthropic recognises these sales on a gross basis: it says it contracts directly with customers, sets pricing and remains responsible for supplying the service. The partner’s charge is then recorded as an expense, rather than deducted from the revenue figure.
Gross profit therefore leaves money that still has to cover distribution. Moving a particular channel charge into cost of revenue would reduce the calculated gross margin while leaving the final operating result unchanged, assuming the same total revenue and expenses. That is a consequence of where the expense sits in the statement.
There is a second distinction within the sales line itself. Functional sales and marketing of $3.808 billion includes channel costs, advertising, personnel, compute used to provide free access, and allocated overhead. The main statement’s $3.168 billion “sales, marketing, and partnerships” category groups expenses differently; neither amount is a disclosed channel-fee-only bill that can be subtracted to manufacture a precise fee-adjusted gross margin.
How Much of Anthropic’s Compute Bill Sits Outside Gross Margin?
Cost of revenue also captures only part of the computing needed to operate an AI company. Anthropic’s total compute and infrastructure expense was $8.945 billion in H1 2026, compared with $2.380 billion of functional cost of revenue.
Note 8 explains the split by purpose. Cost of revenue consists mainly of compute and infrastructure associated with customer-serving workloads, plus some personnel and overhead. Computing for model development, research and internal use sits within R&D, while computing used to provide free access sits within sales and marketing.
We can establish a minimum amount of compute expense outside cost of revenue. Even if the entire $2.380 billion cost-of-revenue line were computing, it would leave at least $6.565 billion, or 73.4% of total compute and infrastructure expense, elsewhere in operating expenses. Since cost of revenue also includes other costs, the actual amount outside it may be higher.
That is a lower bound calculated from the disclosed totals, rather than an exact allocation between training, research and free usage. Equally, subtracting the entire $8.945 billion compute bill from revenue would not produce a conventional gross margin: it combines computing used across several functions while leaving other operating costs to be paid.
What Happens if Anthropic’s Compute Costs Grow Faster Than Revenue?
The timing of capacity deliveries is the next test. Anthropic says it typically procures committed compute 12-18 months before availability and recognises the associated expenses as that capacity becomes available. Much of this cost is therefore fixed in the near term, rather than automatically shrinking when customer demand slows.
This can work powerfully when revenue grows quickly across an already committed capacity base. It can also work in the other direction when a new tranche of capacity brings expenses before enough customer revenue arrives.
To see the sensitivity, we will start with the H1 2026 natural expense presentation. Total operating expenses of $16.979 billion minus $8.945 billion of compute and infrastructure leave $8.034 billion of other operating expenses. The following exercise holds that other-expense amount constant and changes only revenue and compute expense over another six-month period.
| Six-month case | Revenue, US$ billion | Compute and infrastructure expense, US$ billion | Other operating expenses, US$ billion | Operating result, US$ billion |
| Reported H1 2026 reference | 16.286 | 8.945 | 8.034 | -0.693 |
| Hypothetical: revenue +20%; compute expense unchanged | 19.543 | 8.945 | 8.034 | +2.564 |
| Hypothetical: revenue +20%; compute expense +30% | 19.543 | 11.629 | 8.034 | -0.119 |
| Hypothetical: revenue +10%; compute expense +30% | 17.915 | 11.629 | 8.034 | -1.748 |
The three hypothetical cases are our sensitivities, not company guidance or forecasts for H2 2026. Results use unrounded inputs. Compute-expense growth is an assumed financial effect of additional capacity, rather than a disclosed conversion from a particular amount of hardware.
Even 20% revenue growth could leave an operating loss under the assumed increase in compute expense. Slower growth would widen that gap, while unchanged compute expense would allow more revenue to reach operating profit. In practice, channel charges, hiring and other expenses could also rise, which makes the constant $8.034 billion assumption a simplification.
The filing does not disclose enough workload-level detail to calculate a gross margin for each scenario. The operating sensitivity is still useful because it tests the ability of revenue to cover the entire expense base without guessing how additional compute would be allocated between functions.
What Does Anthropic’s 85.4% Gross Margin Mean for Investors?
The period matters as much as the definition. Anthropic reported a $1.667 billion operating loss in Q1 2026 and a $974 million operating profit in Q2, producing the $693 million loss for H1. The profitable second quarter is evidence of improvement, while the half-year result captures the preceding quarter’s larger loss.
There is also a separate adjusted measure. Anthropic reported $1.618 billion of adjusted operating income for H1 after excluding $2.185 billion of stock-based compensation and $126 million of non-cash charitable contributions from the operating loss. That calculation answers a different question from the reported operating result; equity compensation remains a cost to shareholders.
Our view is that the rise from a calculated 12.4% gross margin to 85.4% shows a major improvement within the company’s disclosed classification. It does not establish Claude Code’s profitability, profit per token or a contribution margin after all costs associated with an additional customer. Those product-level, token-level and contribution margins are not disclosed.
For Indian investors analysing a US stock, the stronger test is whether revenue keeps covering model development, distribution and each new wave of computing capacity. Anthropic demonstrated that it could earn an operating profit in Q2; sustained profitability requires that relationship to hold as its cost base expands.