Everything You Should Know About CGST (Central Goods And Services Tax)

Last updated:
CGST (Central Goods and Service Tax) - Meaning and Rates Slab

The full form of CGST under GST law is Central Goods and Service Tax. It is called as CGST Act 2017. The CGST act has been enacted to make a provision for the levy and collection of tax on the intra-state supply of goods or services or both by the Central Government and the matters connected therewith or incidental thereto. Let's dive into the article to learn more about the CGST central goods and services tax.

The Central Goods and Services Tax: What Is It?

The tax levied on the supply of goods and services in India, with an emphasis on the place of consumption, is known as the Central Goods and Services Tax. This suggests that the state in which the products or services are used is subject to the tax.

Central Goods and Services Tax, or CGST for short, is a tax that is levied on all deliveries of goods and services made in interstate commerce, with a few exempt items. Through the GST Compensation Fund, the Central Government transfers the CGST it has collected to the state governments. The State Goods and Services Tax (SGST) is a tax that the states are able to impose on the provision of goods and services. The central government may lower the CGST rate through notifications; it is normally set at 18%. The SGST rates are set by each state.

Origin and Start of the CGST Act

  • The CGST Act covers all of India, with the exception of Jammu and Kashmir.
  • Jammu & Kashmir has unique taxation powers under the Constitution, the State assembly must approve the GST's levy. After this is finished, the State will implement GST.
  • The Central Government will notify the designated date in the Official Gazette, which is when the CGST Act would go into effect.
  • As may be announced, different clauses may become operative on various dates.

Objective of CGST Act 2017

In accordance with previous tax legislation, the Central Government assessed taxes on the production of certain commodities through Central Excise duty, the performance of specific services through Service Tax, and the interstate sale of goods through Central Sales Tax. Similar taxes were imposed by the state governments on retail transactions in the form of Value Added Tax (VAT), entry taxes, luxury taxes, purchase taxes, and so forth. As a result, the same supply chain is subject to several different taxes.

The following is a list of challenges posed by former tax laws:

  • Cascading of taxes since the federal government's taxes cannot be offset by state governments' tax collections;
  • State governments are not permitted to deduct some taxes from the amount of other taxes they impose;
  • The nation is divided into distinct economic sectors by the variety of value-added tax laws that exist there, each with varying tax rates and taxation policies;
  • The free movement of trade throughout the nation is hampered by the establishment of tariff and non-tariff trade obstacles like octroi, entry taxes, checkpoints, etc. In addition, the burden of complying with several taxes leads to substantial costs for the taxpayers in the form of multiple returns, payments, etc.

A single tax known as the goods and services tax will be imposed on suppliers, which encompass items and services at every stage of the supply chain, from manufacture or import to the final retail level, due to the aforementioned challenges. As a result, all taxes imposed on the supply of goods or services, whether by the federal government or the state governments, have now been combined into a single goods and services tax. This is a dual levy, with the federal government collecting taxes under the CGST Act of 2017 and the state governments collecting taxes under the state goods and services tax.

Why does the GST have three categories?

India has three distinct GST categories because of its federal structure, despite the fact that the main goal of the GST is to create a single tax system. Both the federal and state governments are able to impose and collect taxes due to the many tiers and categories of businesses. The central and state governments used to levy a variety of indirect taxes, but these days, they are all covered by the GST. The three GST classifications address various situations. Businesses that sell products and services within a state are liable to both state and central GST, with a portion going to each government.

However, IGST is imposed when products are sold or services are provided between states. The seller pays the tax to the central government at the IGST rate, and the central government then distributes it to the states. IGST is usually a combination of CGST and SGST. Example of CGST: Assume that the GST rate slab is 18%. In that scenario, state and central GST would be charged independently on transactions inside a state, and the IGST rate on interstate transactions would be equal to the sum of the CGST and SGST rates, or 18%.

Feature of CGST

Features of the Goods and Services Tax include the following:

  • Taxing all supplies of goods or services, or both, within a state;
  • extending the reach of the input tax credit to taxes paid on goods or services, or both, used or intended for business purposes
  • Mandating that electronic commerce operators collect tax at source on behalf of suppliers at a rate not to exceed 1% of the value of taxable supplies (net)
  • Permitting registered individuals to self-evaluate the taxes they owe


In conclusion, in order to successfully navigate India's tax system, businesses and consumers alike must have a solid understanding of the Central Goods and Services Tax (CGST). This thorough analysis has emphasized its importance, usefulness, and ramifications for numerous industries. CGST is a key component of India's fiscal policy, having been in place since its introduction as part of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) system and playing a significant role in promoting economic growth and simplifying tax procedures. Taking use of its advantages and embracing its intricacies allows stakeholders to make well-informed decisions, which in turn ensures compliance, fosters transparency, and ultimately contributes to a stable and just economic environment.

  • What are the fundamental concepts of GST in accounting?

  • What are the four types of GST?

  • Can I learn GST from home?

  • What is the main point of GST?